The best Meltwater alternatives for AI search monitoring are Honeyb, Otterly, Sight, Athena, Semrush, SE Ranking and Profound. Entry prices start at $29 per month (verified against each vendor's public pricing page in US dollars on 2 October 2026), six of the seven publish their prices, and none states the 12-month minimum contract Meltwater states on its own site.
Meltwater is a legacy media and social-listening suite that predates AI answer tracking. Its pricing is demo-only and tailored per customer, with stated 12-month minimum contracts. Buyers hunting for alternatives are increasingly looking for something different in kind: not press clipping, but visibility into what ChatGPT, Gemini, Claude and Perplexity actually say when a prospect asks for a recommendation.
Why media monitoring misses AI answers
Press and social listening counts mentions as they appear. AI answers do not work that way. Per Semrush, 62% of AI citations never name the brand, so keyword-based listening cannot catch them. The answers themselves are unstable: SparkToro found less than a 1-in-100 chance that two runs of the same prompt return the same list of brands, and in our own July 2026 measurement (20 buyer prompts, 3 identical runs, 4 engines, 240 answers) the top-picked brand changed between identical runs 28% of the time on Claude and 44% on Gemini. The answer-side equivalent of a listening feed is an AI mentions API, which returns each mention as a record with the engine, the prompt, its position in the answer and the sources cited.
Reliable data needs repeated, structured prompt sampling on a schedule, which is a different discipline from monitoring a mention firehose. Our guide to measuring AI share of voice covers the method in detail.
The seven best Meltwater alternatives for AI search monitoring
| Tool | Entry price (2 October 2026) | Prompts at entry | Engines at entry | Trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Honeyb (ours) | $29/mo | 10, scanned daily | 1 model | No trial, free visibility check |
| Otterly | $29/mo | 15 | 4 (ChatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity, Copilot) | Free trial |
| Sight | $99/mo (Pro) | Not stated; 5,000 AI credits | 5 (ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, Grok) | 7 days, card required |
| AthenaHQ | Free plan; Starter $295/mo | Not published | 11 models on Starter | Free plan |
| Semrush | $199/mo ($165.17 annual) | Not stated, tracked daily | Bundled with SEO suite | 7 days |
| SE Ranking | $129/mo Core | 100, tracked daily | Not listed on pricing page | 14 days, no card |
| Profound | No public price | Not published | Not published | Free trial |
Entry prices cluster far below typical enterprise media-monitoring spend, and all are published rather than quoted on a call.
Entry price
Entry-tier price of AI brand monitoring tools
| Item | USD per month |
|---|---|
| Honeyb | 29 $/mo |
| Otterly | 29 $/mo |
| LLM Pulse | 59 $/mo |
| Peec AI | 95 $/mo |
| SE Ranking | 129 $/mo |
| Semrush | 199 $/mo |
| Scrunch | 250 $/mo |
| AthenaHQ | 295 $/mo |
1. Honeyb
Honeyb is our product. The Minimum plan is $29 per month for 10 prompts scanned daily on 1 model, with 1 workspace and seat and no trial. Multi-Model at $79 tracks 50 prompts daily across 3 models with 5 workspaces and unlimited seats, and Full Spectrum at $199 covers 100 prompts daily across all 8 engines, both with a 3-day trial (pricing page, 2 October 2026).
Daily scanning is the point: our measurement above shows top picks shifting between identical runs on every engine, so single snapshots mislead. Fits teams that want scheduled, multi-engine answer tracking bought self-serve.
2. Otterly
Otterly's Lite plan is $29 monthly for 15 prompts across ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Copilot with unlimited seats. Standard at $189 monthly moves to 100 prompts and adds API access, with a free trial (2 October 2026). Fits small teams tracking a handful of prompts, at the joint-lowest entry price on this list.
3. Sight
Sight now sells one self-serve plan priced by AI credits rather than prompts. Pro starts at $99 per month for 5,000 AI credits, 1 site and 1 seat across ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity and Grok; extra sites cost $59 a month and extra seats $29, annual billing saves 20%, and the 7-day trial needs a card. Enterprise starts at $2,500 a month (2 October 2026). Five engines at entry, limited to a single seat.
4. Athena
AthenaHQ has a free plan, and its Starter plan is $295 a month across 11 models, with API access as an add-on priced on request (2 October 2026). Fits teams that want the widest model list and can start on the free plan before paying.
5. Semrush
Semrush bundles AI visibility into its SEO suite from the $199 per month SEO + AI Search Starter plan ($165.17 a month billed annually), which tracks AI prompts daily (prices read 2 October 2026). Prompt counts are not stated on the pricing page, and the Enterprise AIO product is demo-gated (13 July 2026). Fits teams already running Semrush for organic search that want AI tracking under the same subscription.
6. SE Ranking
SE Ranking's Core plan is $129 a month ($103.20 a month billed annually) and tracks 100 AI prompts daily, with 25,000 API credits and MCP access. The AI Search add-on adds 200 prompts for $89 a month ($71.20 annual), and there is a 14-day free trial with no card (2 October 2026). Fits agencies already reporting from SE Ranking that want AI answers inside existing client dashboards.
7. Profound
Profound publishes no price: on 2 October 2026 its pricing offered a free trial and custom Enterprise plans only. Profound has raised over $155M, serves roughly 10% of the Fortune 500, holds SOC 2 Type II, and its Prompt Volumes panel data is unique to it. It is the enterprise-shaped option here, and the only one whose buying motion, a custom quote, resembles Meltwater's.

Self-serve monthly vs demo-gated annual contracts
This is the structural difference the feature comparisons hide. Meltwater publishes no prices, sells through a demo, and states 12-month minimum contracts. Six of the seven alternatives publish prices and bill monthly; Profound is the exception, with custom Enterprise pricing. If a tool underperforms, the exit cost is one month rather than eleven.
| Vendor | Public pricing | Monthly billing available | Minimum commitment |
|---|---|---|---|
| Honeyb (ours) | Yes | Yes | One month |
| Otterly | Yes | Yes | One month |
| Sight | Yes | Yes | One month |
| Athena | Yes | Yes | One month |
| Semrush | Yes | Yes | One month |
| SE Ranking | Yes | Yes | One month |
| Profound | No, custom Enterprise | Not published | Not published |
| Meltwater | No, demo only | Not published | States 12-month minimum |
Which Meltwater alternative should you pick
If you need press clipping and journalist outreach, none of these replaces that side of Meltwater, and some teams will keep both. If the actual job is knowing whether AI assistants recommend you, most dedicated trackers on this list cost $29 to $199 per month against a demo-gated annual contract. Our breakdown of AI brand monitoring costs and the full tool comparison go deeper on plan-by-plan value.
The fastest way to decide is to see what the engines currently say about your brand. Run a free AI visibility check before committing to any subscription.






